This site uses cookies to help it work smoothly. It also uses Google Analytics, which helps us analyse how visitors use the site.

Learn more

I understand

Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit. They are widely used in order to make websites work, or work more efficiently, as well as to provide information to the owners of the site.  The Torbay Singers website uses two types of cookies.

The website uses cookies that are set by the software that makes the website work. This includes cookies used when you fill in a form on the website (to contact us or to reserve tickets for an event) and a cookie that remembers whether or not you have clicked to say that you understand the warning about cookies. 

The website also uses Google Analytics, a web analytics service provided by Google, Inc. ("Google"). Google Analytics uses cookies to help the website analyse how visitors use the site. The information generated by the cookie about your use of the website (including your IP address) will be transmitted to and stored by Google on servers in the United States. Google will use this information for the purpose of evaluating your use of the website, compiling reports on website activity for website operators and providing other services relating to website activity and internet usage. Google may also transfer this information to third parties where required to do so by law, or where such third parties process the information on Google's behalf. Google will not associate your IP address with any other data held by Google.  By using this website, you consent to the processing of data about you by Google in the manner and for the purposes set out above.

Most web browsers allow some control of most cookies through the browser settings. To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit or

holly_web3rd December 2011 - St Matthias Church, Torquay

Beautiful music for Advent and Christmas by British composers.

Benjamin Britten A Hymn to the Virgin
Herbert Howells A Spotless Rose
Chris Williams I Sing of a Maiden 
John Thomas Watching the Wheat (Harp solo) 
Chris Williams A New Year Carol
Bob Chilcott Nova, Nova; The Time of Snow
John Rutter Prelude and Ostinato from Suite Antique (Flute & Piano)
Andrew Daldorph Christ was born on Christmas Day; Shine On

Peter Warlock Bethlehem Down
Herbert Howells  Psalm Prelude No 1, Set 1 (Organ solo)
Benjamin Britten A Ceremony of Carols 

with Luc Walpot (Harp) and Christopher Sears (Organ and Piano)

Conducted by Tina Guthrie 

Saturday 16 April 2011 - St Matthias Church, Torquay
Sunday 17 April 2011 - Crediton Parish Church

Mozart "Coronation" Mass in C, K.317
Handel Coronation Anthems

Héloïse West (soprano)
Louise Mott (alto)
Rupert Charlesworth (tenor)
Alex Poulton (bass)
Jonathan Watts (organ)

Torbay Singers Chamber Orchestra and Divertimento Strings

The Torbay Singers

Tina Guthrie (conductor)

Crediton performance made possible through the kind support of

Saturday 18th June 2011 - St John's Church, Montpellier Rd, Torquay

Rachmaninov Vespers (All-Night Vigil, Op 37)
interspersed with 
H. Andriessen Theme and Variations for Organ
Tchaikovsky Dostoino Yest (Hymn to the Virgin)
J.S.Bach Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland (Organ)
G. Mushel Toccata (Organ) 

David Webb (tenor)
Rowena Brown (alto)
Nigel Guthrie (organ)

with the Torbay Singers
conducted by Tina Guthrie